The territory of present-day Bardejov has attracted settlers since the Stone Age. However, the first written reference to the town dates back to the 1240s, when monks from Bardejov complained to King Béla IV of Hungary about a violation of the town’s borders by Prešov.
Bardejov is situated in the Šariš region on a floodplain terrace of the Topľa River, in the hills of the Beskyd Mountains.
Bardejov is dominated by the monumental Church of St. Aegidius, mentioned for the first time in 1247.
The town consists of the following boroughs: Bardejov, Bardejovská Nová Ves, Bardejovská Zábava, Bardejovské Kúpele, Dlhá Lúka & Mihaľov.