10 Interesting Facts About Beaverton, Oregon

Interesting Facts About Beaverton, Oregon

Facts About Beaverton

  1. The city of Beaverton is divided into 13 neighbourhoods: Central Beaverton, Denney Whitford, Raleigh West, Five Oaks, Triple Creek, Greenway, Highland, Neighbors Southwest, Sexton Mountain, South Beaverton, Vose, West Beaverton, and West Slope.
  2. According to Oregon Geographic Names, Beaverton’s name is derived from the settlement’s proximity to a large body of water resulting from beaver dams.
  3. The area of Tualatin Valley that became Beaverton was originally the home of a Native American tribe known as the Atfalati, which settlers mispronounced as Tualatin.
  4. The Belle Ainsworth Jenkins Estate is a gorgeous National Register of Historic Places-listed estate in Beaverton, originally constructed as a Gilded Age summer home in 1912 by Ralph and Belle Jenkins.
  5. As of January 2020, Beaverton covers a total area of 19.7 square miles (51 km2), all of it land except for small creeks, ponds, and lakes.
  6. The elevation within city limits ranges from as high as 698.2 feet (212.8 m) above sea level to as low as 131.7 feet (40.1 m) above sea level.
  7. Beaverton is twinned with Gotemba, Japan; Hsinchu, Taiwan; Cheonan, South Korea; Birobidzhan, Russia; Trossingen, Germany & Cluses, France.
  8. The estimated population of Beaverton is 97,494, as of 2020, making it the second-largest city in the county and the seventh-largest city in Oregon.
  9. Hamacher Wines was originally established in 1970, located just minutes from Portland’s downtown district in the city of Beaverton.
  10. The city is located along the eastern edge of the Tualatin Valley just west of the Tualatin Mountains.
Interesting Facts About Beaverton, Oregon
Interesting Facts About Beaverton, Oregon