10 Interesting Facts About Conway, Arkansas

Facts About Conway, Arkansas

Facts About Conway

  1. Conway was founded in 1872 by Asa P. Robinson, who came to the area shortly after the Civil War. Robinson was the chief engineer for the Little Rock-Fort Smith Railroad.
  2. Conway has one official sister city agreement with the city of Quakenbrueck, Germany.
  3. Conway has a total area of 45.6 square miles, of which 45.3 square miles is land and 0.2 square miles is water.
  4. The city of Conway has a total population of 64,134, making Conway the eighth-most populous city in Arkansas.
  5. Conway is home to three post-secondary educational institutions, earning it the nickname “The City of Colleges”.
  6. Conway was home to one of the world’s largest school bus manufacturers, IC Corporation. The Conway plant was one of only two IC manufacturing plants; the other is located in Tulsa, Oklahoma.
  7. Conway was named for a famous Arkansas family that included the state’s first elected governor, James Sevier Conway.
  8. Conway operates under a mayor-council form of government. The mayor serves as the chief executive officer of the city, while the city council is responsible for legislative matters.
  9. Conway is located in southwestern Faulkner County at 35°05′14″N 92°27′12″W.
  10. Conway has two designated historic districts: the Asa P. Robinson Historic District and the Hendrix Addition Historic District.
Facts About Conway, Arkansas
Facts About Conway, Arkansas