10 Interesting Facts About Dawson

Facts About Dawson

Facts About Dawson

  • Dawson City, officially the City of Dawson, is a town in the Canadian territory of Yukon.
  • The current settlement was founded by Joseph Ladue and named in January 1897 after noted Canadian geologist George M. Dawson, who had explored and mapped the region in 1887.
  • Dawson is the second largest town in Yukon.
  • Dawson served as Yukon’s capital from the territory’s founding in 1898 until 1952, when the seat was moved to Whitehorse.
  • Dawson was incorporated as a city in 1902, the population was under 5,000. St. Paul’s Anglican Church, also built that same year, is a National Historic Site.
  • The Estimated Population of Dawson is 1,375.
  • Dawson City lies on the Tintina Fault. This fault has created the Tintina Trench and continues eastward for several hundred kilometres. Erosional remnants of a lava flow from outcrops immediately north and west of Dawson City.
  • The average temperature in July is 15.7 °C (60.3 °F) and in January is −26.0 °C (−14.8 °F).
  • The highest temperature ever recorded is 35.0 °C (95 °F) on 9 July 1899 and 18 June 1950. The lowest temperature ever recorded is −58.3 °C on 3 February 1947.
  • The Dawson community is at an elevation of 320 m or 1,050 ft.
Facts About Dawson
Facts About Dawson