Mount Pearl is the third-largest settlement and second-largest city in Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.
On July 21, 1988, the Town of Mount Pearl became the third community in Newfoundland and Labrador to be granted city status.
Mount Pearl is part of the St. John’s metropolitan area, the 20th largest metropolitan area in Canada.
Mount Pearl dates back to 1829, when Commander James Pearl and his wife, Lady Anne Pearl, arrived in Newfoundland with a Crown grant of one thousand acres (4 km²) of land, a reward for Commander Pearl’s 27 years of distinguished service in the Royal Navy.
At 261m elevation, Kenmount Hill is the highest hill in the Mount Pearl landscape.
John Lester died in 1893 leaving his estate, called “FairMead”, to sons Ashton and James. Fairmead is the site of Lester’s Market today.
The town was incorporated on January 11, 1955.
The Estimated Population of Mount Pearl is 23,120.
The boundaries of the community expanded in 1982 to include Donovans Industrial Park.