Ramsey, which has a population of about 8,000, is the second-largest town on the Isle of Man.
The town’s name comes from the Old Norse word “hrams-á”, which means “wild garlic river”. More specifically, it refers to the Latin name Allium ursinum, also known as ramsons, buckrams, or wild garlic.
Ramsey has a long history of shipbuilding, and many of the boats used in the island’s fishing industry were built by the town’s shipyards.
King William III bestowed Ramsey with the title of Royal Borough in 1668.
The courthouse in the town is among the oldest in the British Isles, having been built in 1423.
The “Ramsey Sprint,” a motorcycle racing competition that takes place on closed town streets, is a well-known annual event in Ramsey.
The town hall, courthouse, and St. Paul’s Church, which has a striking spire that dominates the town’s skyline, are among the historic structures and landmarks that can be found there.
During World War II, Ramsey was heavily bombed, and many of the town’s structures were destroyed.
Due to royal visits by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1847 and King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra in 1902, Ramsey is also known as “Royal Ramsey.”
The disused Queen’s Pier in Ramsey Bay was built in 1886 to provide a low-water landing for passenger ferries and was last used in 1970.