Skip to content
Facts About Võru
Võru is home to Taara Army Base, headquarters of the Kuperjanov Infantry Battalion.
The Võru Folklore Festival is held annually in Võru in July since 1995.
Võru was founded on 21 August 1784, according to the wish of the Empress Catherine II of Russia, by the order of Riga Governor general count George Browne, on the site of the former Võru estate.
Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, the author of the Estonian national epic “Kalevipoeg”, lived in Võru from 1833 to 1877.
Võru is a town and a municipality in south-eastern Estonia. It is the capital of Võru County and the centre of Võru Parish.
Võru is twinned with: Alūksne, Latvia; Bad Segeberg, Germany; Chambray-lès-Tours, France; Härryda, Sweden; Iisalmi, Finland; Joniškis, Lithuania; Kaniv, Ukraine; Laitila, Finland; Landskrona, Sweden; Smolyan, Bulgaria & Suwałki, Poland.
The city of Võru received the coat of arms in 1788.
As the Võro stream flowed through the current city of Võru, the city got its name.