Capital Cities beginning with L

Capital Cities beginning with L

Capital Cities beginning with L

This is a list of national capitals with their name beginning with the Letter L, There are 11 capital cities with the name starting with the letter L.

La Paz | Bolivia

La Paz is the seat of government of the Plurinational State of Bolivia. La Paz is the third-most populous city in Bolivia. La Paz was founded on October 20, 1548, by the Spanish conquistador Captain Alonso de Mendoza, who was born in Garrovillas de Alconétar, at the site of the Inca settlement of Laja as a connecting point between the commercial routes that led from Potosí and Oruro to Lima.

Libreville | Gabon

Libreville is the capital and largest city of Gabon. Occupying 65 square kilometres in the northwestern province of Estuaire, Libreville is a port on the Komo River, near the Gulf of Guinea. The area was inhabited by the Mpongwe people before the French acquired the land in 1839. It was later an American Christian mission, and a slave resettlement site, before becoming the chief port of the colony of French Equatorial Africa. By the time of Gabonese independence in 1960, the city was a trading post and minor administrative centre.

Lilongwe | Malawi

Lilongwe is the capital and most populated city of the African country of Malawi. The city is located in the central region of Malawi, in the district of the same name, near the borders of Mozambique and Zambia, and it is an important economic and transportation hub for central Malawi. It is named after the Lilongwe River.

Lima | Peru

Lima is the capital and the largest city of Peru. Lima is located in the valleys of the Chillón, Rímac and Lurín rivers, in the central coastal part of the country, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Lima was named by natives in the agricultural region known by native Peruvians as Limaq. It became the capital and most important city in the Viceroyalty of Peru. Following the Peruvian War of Independence, it became the capital of the Republic of Peru.

Lisbon | Portugal

Lisbon is the capital and the largest city of Portugal. Lisbon is recognised as an alpha-level global city because of its importance in finance, commerce, media, entertainment, arts, international trade, education and tourism. Lisbon is one of two Portuguese cities to be recognised as a global city. Lisbon is one of the oldest cities in the world and the second-oldest European capital city.

Ljubljana | Slovenia

Ljubljana is the capital and largest city of Slovenia. Ljubjana has been the cultural, educational, economic, political and administrative centre. Ljubljana became the capital of the Socialist Republic of Slovenia, part of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Lomé | Togo

Lomé is the capital and largest city of Togo. Located on the Gulf of Guinea, Lomé is the country’s administrative and industrial centre, which includes an oil refinery, and its chief port, where it exports coffee, cocoa, copra, and oil palm kernels. The city was founded by the Ewes and thereafter in the 19th century by German, British and African traders, becoming the capital of Togoland in 1897.

London | England

London is the capital and largest city of England and the United Kingdom. The city stands on the River Thames in the southeast of England, at the head of its 50-mile estuary leading to the North Sea. London is one of the world’s most important global cities. London has a diverse range of people and cultures, and more than 300 languages are spoken in the region. London became the first city to have hosted three modern Summer Olympic Games.

Luanda | Angola

Luanda is the capital and largest city in Angola. Luanda is Angola’s administrative centre, its chief seaport, and also the capital of the Luanda Province. Among the oldest colonial cities of Africa, it was founded in January 1576 as São Paulo da Assunção de Loanda by Portuguese explorer Paulo Dias de Novais.

Lusaka | Zambia

Lusaka is the capital and largest city of Zambia. It is one of the fastest developing cities in southern Africa. Lusaka is in the southern part of the central plateau at an elevation of about 1,279 metres. As of 2019, the city’s population was about 3.3 million, while the urban population is estimated at 2.5 million.

Luxembourg City | Luxembourg

Luxembourg is the capital city of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the country’s most populous commune. Luxembourg is one of the de facto capitals of the European Union. Luxembourg City lies on the southern part of the Luxembourg plateau, a large Early Jurassic sandstone formation that forms the heart of the Gutland, a low-lying and flat area that covers the southern two-thirds of the country.


Capital Cities beginning with L
Capital Cities beginning with L