Capital Cities beginning with P

Capital Cities beginning with P

Capital Cities beginning with P

This is a list of national capitals with their name beginning with the Letter P, There are 17 capital cities with the name starting with the letter P.

Palikir | The Federated States of Micronesia

Palikir is the capital city of the Federated States of Micronesia located in the western Pacific Ocean. Pohnpei was ruled by tribal chiefs in ancient times. Palikir was formerly a tiny village of little consequence. Palikir is located in the northwestern centre of Pohnpei Island

Panama City | Panama

Panama City is the capital and largest city of Panama. The city is located at the Pacific entrance of the Panama Canal, in the province of Panama. The city is the political and administrative centre of the country, as well as a hub for banking and commerce.

Paramaribo | Suriname

Paramaribo is the capital and largest city of Suriname, located on the banks of the Suriname River in the Paramaribo District. The city is named for the Paramaribo tribe living at the mouth of the Suriname River; the name is from Tupi–Guarani para “large river” + maribo “inhabitants”.

Paris | France

Paris is the capital and most populous city of France. Paris was the second most expensive city in the world. Paris has been one of Europe’s major centres of finance, diplomacy, commerce, fashion, gastronomy, science and arts. The City of Paris is the centre and seat of government of the region and province of Île-de-France, or Paris Region, which has an estimated population of 12,174,880.

Phnom Penh | Cambodia

Phnom Penh is the capital and most populous city of Cambodia. It has been the national capital since the French protectorate of Cambodia and has grown to become the nation’s economic, industrial, and cultural centre. Phnom Penh was founded in 1434 to succeed Angkor Thom as the capital of the Khmer nation but was abandoned several times before being reestablished in 1865 by King Norodom.

Podgorica | Montenegro

Podgorica is the capital and largest city of Montenegro. Podgorica is home to almost a quarter of the country’s population. Podgorica’s favourable position at the confluence of the Ribnica and Morača rivers and at the meeting-point of the fertile Zeta Plain and Bjelopavlići Valley has encouraged settlement.

Port Louis | Mauritius

Port Louis is the capital city of Mauritius. It is mainly located in the Port Louis District, with a small western part in the Black River District. Port Louis is the country’s economic, cultural and political centre, and most populous city. It is administered by the Municipal City Council of Port Louis.

Port Moresby | Papua New Guinea

Port Moresby is the capital and largest city of Papua New Guinea and the largest city in the South Pacific outside of Australia and New Zealand. The place where the city was founded has been inhabited by the Motu-Koitabu people for centuries. The first Briton to see it was Royal Navy Captain John Moresby in 1873. It was named in honour of his father, Admiral of the Fleet Sir Fairfax Moresby.

Port Of Spain | Trinidad and Tobago

Port of Spain is the capital city of Trinidad and Tobago, the country’s second-largest city after San Fernando, and the third-largest municipality after Chaguanas and San Fernando. Port of Spain was also the de facto capital of the short-lived West Indies Federation, which united the Caribbean. Port of Spain is a leading city in the Caribbean region

Port Vila | Vanuatu

Port Vila is the capital and largest city of Vanuatu and is on the island of Efate. The area occupied by Port Vila has been inhabited by Melanesian people for thousands of years. Port Vila is Vanuatu’s most important harbour and the centre of the country’s trade.

Port-au-prince | Haiti

Port-au-Prince is the capital and most populous city of Haiti. The city of Port-au-Prince is on the Gulf of Gonâve: the bay on which the city lies, which acts as a natural harbour, has sustained economic activity since the civilizations of the Arawaks. It was first incorporated under French colonial rule in 1749.

Porto-Novo | Benin

Porto-Novo is the capital of Benin. Porto-Novo is a port on an inlet of the Gulf of Guinea, in the southeastern portion of the country. It is Benin’s second-largest city, and although Porto-Novo is the official capital, where the national legislature sits, the larger city of Cotonou is the seat of government, where most of the government buildings are situated and government departments operate.

Prague | Czech Republic

Prague is the capital and largest city in the Czech Republic, the 13th largest city in the European Union and the historical capital of Bohemia. Situated on the Vltava river, Prague is home to about 1.3 million people, while its metropolitan area is estimated to have a population of 2.7 million. Prague is a political, cultural, and economic centre of central Europe complete with a rich history.

Praia | Cape Verde

Praia is the capital and largest city of Cape Verde. Located on the southern coast of Santiago island, within the Sotavento Islands group, the city is the seat of the Praia municipality. Praia is the economic, political, and cultural centre of Cape Verde.

Pretoria | South Africa

Pretoria is one of South Africa’s three capital cities, serving as the seat of the executive branch of government, and as the host to all foreign embassies to South Africa. Pretoria is the central part of the Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality which was formed by the amalgamation of several former local authorities, including Centurion and Soshanguve.

Putrajaya | Malaysia

Putrajaya is a planned city and the federal administrative centre of the Malaysian capital. The seat of the federal government was shifted in 1999 from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya because of overcrowding and congestion in the former.

Pyongyang | North Korea

Pyongyang is the capital and largest city of North Korea, where it is known as the “Capital of the Revolution”. Pyongyang is one of the oldest cities in Korea. Pyongyang is the political, industrial and transport centre of North Korea. It is home to North Korea’s major government institutions, as well as the ruling Workers’ Party of Korea.


Capital Cities beginning with P
Capital Cities beginning with P