Countries Bordering Slovakia

Countries Bordering Slovakia
Countries Bordering Slovakia

Slovakia, officially the Slovak Republic, is a landlocked country in Central Europe. Bordered by Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east, Hungary to the south, Austria to the west, and the Czech Republic to the northwest. Slovakia’s territory spans about 49,000 square kilometres and is mostly mountainous.

The oldest surviving human artefacts from Slovakia are found near Nové Mesto nad Váhom and are dated at 270,000 BCE, in the Early Paleolithic era. These ancient tools, made by the Clactonian technique, bear witness to the ancient habitation of Slovakia.

Which countries border Slovakia?
Rank Countries that border Slovakia The population, as of 2019
1 Poland 37.97 million
2 Ukraine 41.98 million
3 Czechia 10.65 million
4 Hungary 9.773 million
5 Austria 8.859 million

The Polish-Slovak border is the state border between the Republic of Poland and the Republic of Slovakia, the Border between Poland and Slovakia stretches around 335 miles and is existing formally in the modern form from January 1st, 1993 from the moment of the dissolution of Czechoslovakia into two independent states. 

The border with Slovakia runs from Jaworzynka Trzycatka through the Zwardońska Pass, Wielka Racza, Wielki Rycea, the Glinka Pass, Pilsko, Babia Góra, Chyżne, crosses the Orava valley, the main ridge of the Tatra Mountains, runs along the Białka valley along the Dunajec Valley, through the Pieniny, the Poprad Valley, through Muszynę, Przełęcz Tylicka, Dukielska and Łupkowska, to the summit Krzemieniec, at Przełęczą Użocka.


The Slovakia-Ukraine border is an internationally estimated boundary between Slovakia and Ukraine, Slovakia and Ukraine inherited the borders from their previous respective states, Ukraine from the Soviet Union and Slovakia from Czechoslovakia. The Slovakia-Ukraine border stretches for 60 miles.

The current border was established after World War II, After the admission of Slovakia to the European Union, border security became the responsibility of the Union, as well.


The border between Slovakia and the Czech Republic stretches for 156 miles. 


Slovaks and Hungarians have spent practically a millennium living together within the same state, The first period included relations between the Kingdom of Hungary and the first Slovak Republic in 1939–1945. The second period has started in 1993 when the countries again established diplomatic relations, the year when Slovakia became independent of Czechoslovakia. 

The Hungarian-Slovakian border runs to the west beginning at the tripoint created by the Hungarian, Austrian, and Slovak borders to cover a distance of 421 miles.


The Austria-Slovakia border was established in 1994 with the creation of Slovakia, following the partition of Czechoslovakia.
It had already been in existence since 1919 after Czechoslovakia’s declaration of independence.The Austria-Slovakia border runs for 65.9 miles long, which is the second shortest national border in Europe.

Countries Bordering Slovakia
Countries Bordering Slovakia