Flag of Liguria

Flag of Liguria

Flag of Liguria

The flag of Liguria is a horizontal tricolour flag with red, white, and blue stripes. It is one of the official symbols of the region of Liguria, Italy. The current flag was adopted on July 7, 1997.

  • The red stripe represents the blood shed for Italian unification
  • The green represents the Ligurian Alps and the Ligurian Apennines;
  • The white stripe represents the region’s maritime history and its connections to the sea.
  • The blue stripe represents the Ligurian Sea.

At the centre of the flag is the coat of arms of Liguria, which consists of a stylized caravel, symbolizing the region’s maritime traditions and its great navigators. The caravel is positioned below the historical flag of the Republic of Genoa. The four six-pointed stars imposed on the Genovese flag represent the four provinces of Liguria: the Province of Genoa, the Province of Imperia, the Province of La Spezia, and the Province of Savona.

Flag of Liguria
Flag of Liguria, Italy

Liguria name origin

The name “Liguria” is derived from the Latin word “Ligusticum,” which means “place of the Ligures.” The Ligures were an ancient Indo-European people who lived in the western part of Italy, including the region of Liguria, which takes its name from them. The name “Ligusticum” was originally used by the Romans to refer to the region and its inhabitants, and it eventually became the modern name “Liguria.”

Liguria Region

Liguria is a region located in northwest Italy, along the Mediterranean coast. It is bordered by France to the west, Piedmont and Emilia-Romagna to the north, and Tuscany and the Tyrrhenian Sea to the south. The region is known for its rugged coastline, picturesque towns, and cultural and culinary traditions. It is home to the city of Genoa, which was once a major maritime power and has a long history as a trading and cultural centre.

Liguria has a population of about 1.8 million people and is divided into four provinces: Genoa, Imperia, La Spezia, and Savona. The capital of the region is Genoa. The official language is Italian, but Ligurian, a Romance language, is also spoken in the region.

The economy of Liguria is diverse and includes agriculture, fishing, and tourism, as well as manufacturing and services. The region is known for its production of olive oil, wine, and flowers, as well as its seafood, including anchovies, sardines, and mussels. The region is also home to several popular tourist destinations, including the Italian Riviera, the Cinque Terre, and the island of Portofino.

Flag of Liguria
Flag of Liguria