Regions of Arkansas

Regions of Arkansas

Regions of Arkansas

Arkansans usually identify as being from one of six regions: NorthWest, SouthWest, North Central, Upper Delta, Central and Lower Delta. These directional regions are not specifically defined by county.

Map of Arkansas
Arkansas Map


This region includes cities such as Fayetteville, Springdale, Rogers, and Bentonville. It’s known for its thriving economy, driven by businesses like Walmart and Tyson Foods, as well as its picturesque landscapes in the Ozark Mountains.

North Central

This region includes towns like Mountain Home, Harrison, and Mountain View. It’s characterized by its scenic beauty, with the Ozark Mountains, rivers, and lakes providing ample opportunities for outdoor recreation.

Upper Delta

The Upper Delta region includes cities such as Jonesboro, Blytheville, and Paragould. It’s situated in the northeastern part of the state and is known for its agricultural production, particularly rice and soybeans.


This region encompasses areas around Little Rock, the state capital, and surrounding communities. It’s characterized by its fertile farmland along the Arkansas River and historical significance related to the Civil Rights Movement.

Little Rock serves as the economic, cultural, and political hub of the region, with diverse industries including healthcare, government, finance, and education.

State of Arkansas
State of Arkansas


Encompassing areas like Texarkana, Hope, and El Dorado, Southwest Arkansas is known for its rich history in timber, oil, and agriculture. It’s also home to natural attractions like the Ouachita National Forest.

Lower Delta

The Lower Delta region includes cities such as Pine Bluff, Helena-West Helena, and surrounding areas. It’s situated in the eastern and southeastern parts of the state, known for its rich agricultural land along the Mississippi River.

This region has a significant African American population and played a crucial role in the Civil Rights Movement. Pine Bluff is an important economic centre with industries like agriculture, manufacturing, and transportation.

Helena-West Helena has historical significance related to the Civil War and offers cultural attractions like the Delta Cultural Center.

Regions of Arkansas
Regions of Arkansas