What is the capital city of France?

capital city of France

Table of Contents

What is the capital city of France? Paris

Paris is the capital city and most populous city of France, situated on the River Seine, in northern France, at the heart of the Ile-de-France region with an estimated population of 2,175,601 residents, in an area of 105 square kilometres.

As the capital city of France, the city plays host to the national government of France. Even the official residence of the president is in the city at the Élysée Palace while the Prime Minister is housed at the Hôtel Matignon. The Senate or the upper house meets at the Palais du Luxembourg while the Palais Bourbon is the meeting point for the Assemblée Nationale.

The name Paris derives from that of its pre-Roman-era inhabitants, the Gaulish tribe, which were known as the Parisii. Before the city was called Paris, the city was called Lutetia during the first to the sixth-century Roman occupation, but the present name began to replace this towards the end of that period.

Paris has become one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, with over 30 million foreign visitors per year. The city plays host to numerous landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame Cathedral, the Arc de Triomphe and The Champs-Elysees.

When did Paris become the capital of France? 

Paris With the liberation of Paris in 1944, Charles de Gaulle established the Provisional Government of the French Republic, restoring Paris as the French capital.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization has had its headquarters in Paris since November 1958. Paris is also the home of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Paris hosts the headquarters of the European Space Agency, the International Energy Agency, European Securities and Markets Authority and, as of 2019, the European Banking Authority.

capital city of France
What is the capital city of France? Paris
Share the Post:

Related Posts

Scroll to Top