Kėdainiai is one of the oldest cities in Lithuania.
Kėdainiai was First mentioned in the 1372 Livonian Chronicle of Hermann de Wartberge,
The population of Kėdainiai is 23,667 as of 2020.
The old town of Kėdainiai dates to the 17th century.
The city is the administrative centre of the Kėdainiai District Municipality.
Kėdainiai other alternate forms include Kidan, Kaidan, Keidany, Keydan, Kiedamjzeÿ, Kuidany, and Kidainiai.
Since the city is known as the cucumber capital of Lithuania, it sponsors an annual cucumber festival.
Kėdainiai is twinned with: Brodnica, Poland; Fălticeni, Romania; Kohtla-Järve, Estonia; Łobez, Poland; Melitopol, Ukraine; Rostov, Russia; Sömmerda, Germany; Sweden Svalöv, Sweden; Telavi, Georgia; Vawkavysk, Belarus & Zelenogradsk, Russia
The Kėdainiai Regional Museum, established in 1922, now operates four branches: a Multicultural Centre, the Mausoleum of the Dukes Radziwill, the House of Juozas Paukštelis, and the Museum of Wooden Sculptures of V.Ulevičius.
The area was the site of several battles during “The Deluge”, the 17th-century war between the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth and Sweden.