10 Interesting Facts About Nha Trang

Facts About Nha Trang

Facts About Nha Trang

  • Nha Trang is a coastal city and capital of Khánh Hòa Province, on the South Central Coast of Vietnam.
  • On April 22, 2009, prime minister Nguyễn Tấn Dũng recognized Nha Trang City as the first-class municipal city.
  • Nha Trang city has a metropolitan area of 251 km2.
  • Nha Trang is twinned with Đà Lạt, Vietnam & Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia.
  • The estimated population of Nha Trang is 535,000.
  • Nha Trang is subdivided into 27 wards and communes, of which 20 are urban wards: Vĩnh Hải, Vĩnh Phước, Vĩnh Thọ, Xương Huân, Vạn Thắng, Vạn Thạnh, Phương Sài, Phương Sơn, Ngọc Hiệp, Phước Hòa, Phước Tân, Phước Tiến, Phước Hải, Lộc Thọ, Tân Lập, Vĩnh Nguyên, Vĩnh Trường, Phước Long, Vĩnh Hòa; and 8 suburban communes: Vĩnh Phương, Vĩnh Trung, Vĩnh Thạnh, Vĩnh Thái, Vĩnh Hiệp, Vĩnh Ngọc, Vĩnh Lương, and Phước Đồng. Since 1998, due to the high pace of urbanization, many urban planned zones have been built: Hòn Rớ, Bắc Việt, Thánh Gia, Đường Đệ, and Nam Hòn Khô.
  • Historically, the city was known as Kauthara under the rule of the Kingdom of Champa.
  • Nha Trang was the site of the Miss Universe 2008 Pageant on July 14, 2008, and Miss Earth 2010 was held on December 4, 2010.
  • In September 1975, the districts were merged to become one entity, the town of Nha Trang.
  • Nha Trang is a centre for marine science based at the Nha Trang Oceanography Institute. The Hon Mun marine protected area is one of four first marine protected areas in the world admitted by the IUCN.
Facts About Nha Trang
Facts About Nha Trang