10 Interesting Facts About Vung Tau

Facts About Vung Tau

Facts About Vung Tau

  • A street in Baku is named after Vũng Tàu, while Vũng Tàu has a street named Baku.
  • Vũng Tàu is the largest city and former capital of Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu Province in Vietnam.
  • The city area is 140 square kilometres (54 square miles), consists of 13 urban wards and one commune of Long Sơn Islet.
  • Vũng Tàu was the capital of the province until it was replaced by the much smaller Bà Rịa city on 2 May 2012.
  • Vũng Tàu consists of 16 wards: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, Thắng Nhất, Thắng Nhì (former Ward 6), Thắng Tam, Nguyễn An Ninh, Rạch Dừa and the commune of Long Sơn.
  • During the 14th and 15th centuries, the cape that would become Vũng Tàu was a swamp that European trading ships visited regularly. The ships’ activities inspired the name Vũng Tàu, which means “anchorage”. The French Indochinese government named it Cap Saint-Jacques.
  • The Estimated Population of Vung Tau is 527,025.
  • Vũng Tàu was originally referred to as Tam Thắng (“Three Boats”) in memory of the first three villages in this area: Thắng Nhất, Thắng Nhị, Thắng Tam, within the province of Biên Hòa under the Nguyễn Dynasty.
  • Vũng Tàu is twinned with: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia; Parramatta, New South Wales, Australia; Baku, Azerbaijan; Ganja, Azerbaijan; Padang, Indonesia; Newport Beach, California, USA; Hạ Long, Vietnam; Yên Bái, Vietnam & Rayong, Thailand.
  • On 30 May 1979, Vũng Tàu town was made the capital of Vũng Tàu-Côn Đảo Special Administrative Zone. On 12 August 1991, Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu Province was officially founded and Vũng Tàu town officially became Vũng Tàu City.
Facts About Vung Tau
Facts About Vung Tau