Hill of Crosses Facts
The exact number of crosses is unknown, but estimates put it at about 55,000 in 1990 and 100,000 in 2006.
Hill of Crosses is a site of pilgrimage about 12 km north of the city of Šiauliai, in northern Lithuania.
The precise origin of the practice of leaving crosses on the hill is uncertain, but it is believed that the first crosses were placed on the former Jurgaičiai or Domantai hill fort after the 1831 Uprising.
Over the generations, the place has come to signify the peaceful endurance of Lithuanian people despite the threats they faced throughout history.
In December 2019, a woman tourist from China removed and tossed away a cross believed to be set up by Hong Kong pro-democracy camp.
On September 7, 1993, Pope John Paul II visited the Hill of Crosses, declaring it a place for hope, peace, love and sacrifice.
In May 2013, Šiauliai District Municipality adopted rules regarding the placement of crosses. People are allowed to erect wooden crosses less than 3 metres (9.8 ft) in height with no permits.