Castles in the canton of Zug
The canton of Zug is one of the 26 cantons of Switzerland. It is located in central Switzerland and its capital is Zug. The Canton of Zug has six castles located in it: Buonas Castle, Risch, Freudenberg Castle, Risch-Rotkreuz, Hünenberg Castle, Hünenberg, St. Andreas Castle, Cham, Wildenburg Castle (Zug), Baar & Zug Castle, Zug.
Buonas Castle, Risch
Buonas Castle was probably built in the 11th century. In 1478 the castle burned down and the reconstruction began until 1494. The new building was completed in 1498 and received another floor. The New Castle was built next to the medieval one in 1877. Today the castle site is a training center.
Address: Schloss Buonas 2, Buonas, Switzerland
Freudenberg Castle, Risch-Rotkreuz
Freudenberg Castle is a castle in the municipality of Bad Ragaz of the Canton of St. Gallen in Switzerland. It is a Swiss heritage site of national significance.
The Freudenberg castle was one of the largest castles in region. The main castle dates from the first half of the 13th century and consists of a keep with a trapezoid floor plan. The curtain wall was 80m long and 60m wide and protected by a round tower in the southwest corner.
The castle was built by the Lords of Wildenberg. Later it was owned by several families and the imperial Austria. Because of a dispute over the legacy of the last Count of Toggenburg Freudenberg was besieged on May 26, 1437 by troops from Zurich. The castle was taken by the besiegers, plundered and set on fire.
Since 1985 the site has been owned by the municipality of Bad Ragaz and can be visited freely.
Built around 1200-1250
Address: Wingertweg 6, 7310 Bad Ragaz, Switzerland
Coordinates 47°0′32″N 9°29′33″E
Hünenberg Castle, Hünenberg
Hünenberg Castle was built in the 12th century and mentioned first time in 1173. At the Battle of Sempach in 1386 Hünenberg fought on the side of Habsburg family and the castle was destroyed after the defeat. During the following three decades the Hünenberg family also lost their power and reputation. In 1416, Rudolf von Hünenberg sold the ruined castle and its rights to the Bütler brothers. The keep was still standing into the 19th century.
St. Andreas Castle, Cham
St. Andreas Castle is a privately owned castle located in Cham, in the Canton of Zug. The castle hill has been used since at least 400 AD, based on Roman artifacts found there. The site of the neighboring chapel has been used for religious ceremonies since the Roman era. During the 8th century the chapel site was used by a ‘holy bishop without a name’ for Christian services.
Today the castle and chapel are located on a 67,000 square metres private park. While the castle is privately owned, the grounds are opened to the public twice a year.
Wildenburg Castle (Zug), Baar
Wildenburg castle was founded in the 13th century by the Lords of Hünenberg, vassals of the counts of Kyburg and Habsburg. The first plant was probably just a stone ring wall with wooden buildings. A round keep and a palas in the northeastern corner were added later. In 1386, the knights of Hünenberg fought against the Confederates at the Battle of Sempach on the side of Habsburg Austria. Wildenburg was destroyed after that. The castle was then left to decay and used as a quarry in the 16th century.
Zug Castle, Zug
The first castle in Zug was probably a wooden manor house built around 1000 and owned by a ministerialis family in service to either the Counts of Aargau or of Lenzburg. Based on archaeological excavations, it was built on an island between two small streams and surrounded by a wooden palisade. While the local nobleman occupied the house and island, his men built a village along the streams. Later the steams were dammed to prevent flooding.
The museum in the Castle of Zug tells the history of the city and the canton of Zug. Zug Castle has been home to the museum of cultural history for the city and the Canton of Zug since 1983.