Flag of Curacao


The flag of Curaçao is a very important symbol for the people of Curacao. The island is one of five islands that make up the Netherlands Antilles. These islands have been part of the Netherlands since 1845 and are an autonomous country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. This means that although they have their own government, military, currency, and so on, they also share responsibility for some things with other members of the Kingdom. For example, Dutch law applies to them but they still have their own laws as well.

Curaçao, the “C” in the ABC Islands, is an autonomous territory of the Netherlands that lies off the coast of Venezuela and is home to more than 160,000 people. The Dutch flag flies over this beautiful island country, but it also has its own flag

Flag of Curacao

The flag of Curaao features horizontal stripes of red, white and blue. The design is based on the Dutch flag, with a few modifications to represent the unique status of the island within the Netherlands Antilles.

Flag of Curacao
Flag of Curacao

Design and Colour Scheme

The national flag of Curacao is a blue ensign with a horizontal yellow stripe in the centre. The flag’s design is based on that of the Dutch flag, which has been used as an unofficial flag for many years. The use of this flag is intended to show respect for Curacao’s history as part of the Dutch Empire, but it also represents pride in being able to fly one’s own country’s colours freely without fear of reprisal.

The colours red, white and blue are taken from those used in Dutch flags since 1572 when they were first mentioned by William I, also known as William the Silent, after which they were officially adopted by royal decree in 1815.

  • Red represents freedom
  • white represents purity
  • blue represents justice.


The flag of Curaçao was adopted on November 11, 1976. The flag is based on the flag of the Netherlands, with a red-white-blue horizontal tricolour with a shield on it. On this shield are six white five-pointed stars representing Curaçao’s six districts: Punda (the capital), Otrobanda, San Nicolas, Santa Cruz and Coro Sint Michiel all in the north and west part of the island; Noordpunt (Curaçao North Point) and Klein Curacao in Boka Korsou in the central part of the island; Westpunt (West Point) and Rif St Anna in the southern part of the island.

  • The flag of Curacao is similar to that of the Netherlands. The Dutch people were responsible for establishing a colony on Curaçao, which was originally named Nieuw-Land, New Land. In 1635, however, it was renamed after another nearby island called Kura Hulanda.
  • Both flags have red stars in the centre and a horizontal stripe across them. They also both feature vertical stripes that depict five different colours: yellow, red and white; white and blue; green and orange; black with white spots; grey with red stripes.


The flag of Curaçao is a horizontal tricolour of red, blue and white. The colours red, white and blue have been used on the island since its days as a colony of the Netherlands.

These three colours represent the main islands of Curacao: Curaçao (blue), Aruba (white) and Bonaire (red). The star in the centre represents the Dutch flag, while the stripes represent the three main islands in their respective colours. Together these elements symbolize unity amongst all four parts of this beautiful island nation.


A national flag is a symbol that represents the country you live in. The flag of Curaçao has six stripes representing the island’s six areas. The stars at the top right corner show how many islands makeup Curaçao. When you look at this flag, it makes you think about what your country stands for. Does your country have an official flag?


Flag of Curacao
Flag of Curacao