10 Interesting Facts About Peoria, Arizona

Facts About Peoria, Arizona

Facts About Peoria

  • Peoria is a city in Maricopa and Yavapai counties in the state of Arizona.
  • Peoria was named the “Rose Capital of the World” in 1956.
  • According to 2019 Census Bureau estimates, the estimated population of the city is 175,961.
  • Peoria is currently the sixth-largest city in Arizona in land area and the ninth-largest in population.
  • Peoria was named after Peoria, Illinois. The word Peoria is a corruption of the Miami-Illinois word for ‘prairie fire’.
  • According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 141.7 square miles, of which 138.2 square miles is land and 3.5 square miles is water.
  • Peoria is twinned with one sister city Newtownards, County Down, Northern Ireland.
  • Peoria was founded in 1886, by four families from Illinois who moved to Arizona in 1886 and named the new settlement after their home town.
  • Peoria was incorporated as a city in 1954 and became a Charter City in 1983.
  • Peoria is home to Lake Pleasant, the second largest lake in Arizona after Roosevelt Lake. Though Lake Mead is much larger, it is shared by both Arizona and Nevada.


Facts About Peoria
Facts About Peoria