Skip to content
Reichstag Building Facts
The Reichstag building was designed as a home to the parliament of the German Empire.
The Neo-Renaissance building was designed by German architect Paul Wallot.
Construction started 9 June 1884 and Completed 1894.
On 2 May 1945, Yevgeny Khaldei took the photo Raising a flag over the Reichstag, which symbolized the victory of the USSR over Germany.
In today’s usage, the German term Reichstag refers to the building, while the term Bundestag refers to the institution.
The Reichstag dome has a 360-degree view of the surrounding Berlin cityscape. The dome is no longer open to anyone without prior registration.
The Reichstag building attracts about 3 million people per year.
The Reichstag’s dome and chamber were damaged in the fire, and then it was further destroyed during WWII. Repairs were finally completed in 1971.
The building became the focus of the art world in June 1995 when it was wrapped in 100,000 square meters of silver fabric by the environmental sculptors Christo and Jeanne-Claude.
During the 12 years of Nazi rule, the Reichstag building was not used for parliamentary sessions.