10 Interesting Facts About Murray, Utah

Facts About Murray, Utah

Facts About Murray

  • Murray is a city situated on the Wasatch Front in the core of Salt Lake Valley in the U.S. state of Utah.
  • Named for territorial governor Eli Murray, it is the state’s fourteenth largest city.
  • Murray has been called the Hub of Salt Lake County.
  • Murray is twinned with one sister city: Chiayi, Taiwan.
  • Murray has been designated a Tree City USA since 1977.
  • The estimated population of Murray is 49,105, as of 2019.
  • The City received its present name from the post office, which officially changed its name from South Cottonwood Post Office to Murray Post Office in 1883 after the territorial governor and civil war general, Eli Murray.
  • According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 9.6 square miles (24.9 km2), all land.
  • Murray was first settled in 1849 but the city was officially incorporated in 1902.
  • The elevation of Murray is 1,311 m above sea level.
Facts About Murray, Utah
Facts About Murray, Utah